قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / 7 Privacy Tips for photos and videos on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

7 Privacy Tips for photos and videos on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Chances are you just point, shoot, and share photos and videos on your iPhone without thinking about how your privacy is affected. It's pretty easy to do that because the camera and photo apps provided by Apple seem so innocent. But there are some things you need to know about disc media, share it and even delete it.

All of the tips below are related to other people who see your photos and video clips, whether it's not having them see some metadata when sharing content that you want them to watch or just don't give them access to private photos and videos that should remain under lock and key.

It should also be so to say that if you do not want people to watch things on your iPhone directly, do not give them your iPhone, secure it with a strong password and enable Touch ID or Face ID.

Tip 1
: Stop geotagging your photos and videos

When you take a photo or video, location data is stored in the file, so when you share that photo or video in a text or email, you might as well tell us where it was taken. While geolocation data is usually dumped automatically when shared with some social media or web hosting, this is not always the case.

To keep your iPhone from geotagging photos and videos you take, go to "Privacy" in the setup app, then select "Local Services" up. Press "Camera" (or a third-party camera app) from the list and select "Never". You can also select the "Photos" app from the list and select "Never" for it, preventing photos from showing you memories around your current location.

Bonus: You can also choose "Never" for all Other apps you take pictures or videos with.

Tip 2: Remove your EXIF ​​data before sharing

The above tips have their drawbacks, so you may not want to disable location data. Without location data, the app "Places" app will no longer be useful for new photos and videos, and new "Collections" will not tell where they were taken. Also, you can't search for media by location, and if you chose "Never" for the Photos app, you can't search for nearby sites either.

If your primary concern doesn't share your location data with others, you can just scratch all EXIF ​​data from your photos and videos before sharing them. To do so, you need a third-party tool like Koredoko (free), ViewExif ($ 0.99), EXIF ​​Viewer ($ 2.99), Pixelgarde (free) or PixlMet (free).

In EXIF ​​Viewer, you can delete EXIF ​​data, copy without it or just release it when you share.

If you upload your photos to Flickr, Lightroom or anywhere else where metadata is valuable and want to keep metadata such as camera type, focal length, flash, ISO, etc., you can use tools like the aforementioned Koredoko (free), Pixelgarde ( free), PixlMet (in-app $ 1.99 purchase) to change the location to somewhere else. Pixelgarde makes it possible to remove the geotag and keep all other metadata.

Pixelgarde (left) vs. Koredoko (right).

Some sites that automatically delete EXIF ​​data when uploaded to them include Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Messenger, WhatsApp, eBay, Imgur and Craigslist. Websites that do not include Google+, Dropbox, Flickr, Lightroom, Google Photos, and Tumblr.

Tip 3: Stop syncing your media to iCloud

If you share an iPad, iPod touch, Mac, Windows PC or Apple TV with other people in your family or even your roommates when you have iCloud Photo Libary on, all your photos and videos in the Photos app will be stored in the cloud and available to all your other devices. If you have My Photo Stream on, only your latest photos and videos are available to watch on your other devices.

If you don't have a lot of space on your iPhone, iCloud Photo Library is a good storage solution without a device, while My Photo Stream only stores content for 30 days on Apple's servers. So you need to find out if you'd rather keep your photos and videos secret or get them available from any device. If you choose to disable either, you can do so from "Photos" in Settings.

Tip 4: Delete deleted photos and videos

All photos and videos you delete in the Photos app is not eliminated, at least not directly. They are thrown into an album called "Recently Deleted", where they will eventually be permanently deleted after 30 days. This also applies when you delete content from the Photos app from a third-party app, such as Google Photos.

If friends or family usually use your iPhone from time to time, photos you may not want them to see can be stored here, easily recyclable. To get rid of them right away, go to the album "Last removed", press "Select" at the top right and then press "Delete all" at the bottom left or select specific pictures and then click "Delete ".

Bonus Tip 5: Hide pictures and videos from some albums

A little known iPhone secret is that you can actually hide photos and videos in the Photos app. However, you just hide them from your Moments, Years and Collections view, as well as any albums they appear in, but will keep the photo or video available in a new "Hidden" album.

Although it would be nice if Apple could make this a password-protected folder one day, it still helps to keep your spicy media in mind when displaying collections to your family and friends.

To hide a photo or video, select it and then use the Share icon to record the stock book. Scroll through the bottom line of activities until you see "Hide". Tap it, then "Hide Photo" or "Hide Video" to get the job done.

Tip 6: Password lock your photos and videos

The above tips are not good enough for you? Then you can put some effort into hiding pictures and video clips. One way is that you can share photos and / or videos as a new note in Notes. When it is ready, you can delete pictures / videos from photos using Tip 4 above, go to Notes, swipe left on the note to view the options (or use the part archive when it is in the note), and then press the lock icon. [19659003] If this is the first time you use the lock function, you will be prompted to create a password. If it is not, you must enter the password that you have already made for Notes. You can also choose to use Touch ID or Face ID to lock and unlock notes. When it is ready, you actually have to lock the note by pressing "Lock now" at the bottom of the folder or by hitting the lock icon in the note itself.

Tip 7: Use Third Party Lockers

Yes, using the Notes trick above is pain in the ass. So, until there is a better built-in way to do that on iPhones, you will probably resort to third-party tools like TouchyNotes (Free), Folder Locks (Free), Secure Gallery and Password Options for Free), Keeply (Free), Private Photo Vault (free or $ 3.99), or another media locker.

You still need to remove media from photos using Tip 4 above, but now you have safer options to keep your media private. TouchyNotes, for example, allows you to enter your password directly in front of people without being able to identify the password.

These tips are mainly for photos and videos you bring with the Camara app and stored in your photo album, so if you want privacy tips especially for popular apps like Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat, you'll want to check them out.

This article has been produced under the Gadget Hack's special coverage of smartphone privacy and security. Check out the entire privacy and security series.

Don't miss: Everything you need to disable on your iPhone for maximum security

Cover image and screenshots by Justin Meyers / Gadget Hacks

Source link