قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / All the ways that your location can be tracked on an iPhone

All the ways that your location can be tracked on an iPhone



A close-up of hands using a smartphone at night on the street.
blackzheep / Shutterstock.com

Your iPhone can be configured to share your real-time location with any person. It also tags your location on the photos you take, and many apps ask for site access. How to take control.

Find my iPhone

The Find My iPhone feature lets you track your iPhone if you drop it. Anyone who has access to your Apple ID account can access this feature, so it̵

7;s important to create a unique password and make sure others do not have access to your account.

If you have configured Family Sharing, your family members can also track your iPhone’s location using the default settings. To track your iPhone, someone must use either the “Find My” app for iPhone, iPad, and Mac or the “Find My” tool on Apple’s iCloud.com.

To check Find My iPhone, open the Settings app, tap your name at the top of the Settings screen, and tap “Find My.” You can check if Find My iPhone is activated from here and also choose if your place is shared with the family members shown here.

Find my iPhone options in the iPhone Settings app.

RELATED: How to turn my iPad on or off

Share places with people

You can also choose to share your location with other people who are not in your family. For example, friends can share their places with each other so they can meet more easily. This feature was previously called “Find My Friends”, but now both family and friend’s location sharing is scrolled into the Find My app.

To check if you have shared your iPhone location with someone, open the “Find My” app on your iPhone. Click on the “People” icon at the bottom of the window and look at the people in the list. Your family members will appear here, as well as everyone you’ve shared your place with.

To remove a person from the list, drag to the left of them and tap the red trash can icon.

View a family member's location in the Find My app.

Apps that you have given site access to

Apps that you have given site access to can also access your site. To see which apps have access to your location, go to Settings> Privacy> Location Services

Browse the list here to see which apps have access to your site. An app that “Always” has access to your location can also access it in the background, while apps that are set to “While using” can only access your location while using them. You can also force the app to ask you every time it wants site access.

There are good reasons why some apps always have access to your location – for example, a weather app may provide current weather based on your current location – but you should be careful about which apps you access your location.

To change an app’s location permissions, click It in the list here and select a new option: Never, Ask next time, while using the app or always.

Location status options on an iPhone.

RELATED: How to make iPhone apps always ask for site access

Photos with location information

Many people do not know this, but your photos can give away your place.

Here’s how it works: When you take a photo, the camera automatically adds geographic data to the photo. So when you look at your photos in the future, you can see where you took a photo.

Some services automatically clear this location information from a photo when you upload it. But not everyone does – and if you send a photo directly to someone via SMS, email or some other method, the person can probably see the location information on your photo and decide where the photo was taken.

You can prevent the iPhone camera from saving location information on the photos you take. You can also just delete location data while sharing a photo. In the Photos app, tap the Share button, tap “Options” at the top of the sharing screen, and disable the “Location” option.

Access location options while sharing a photo in the iPhone's Photos app.

RELATED: How to see exactly where a photo was taken (and keep your place private)

Bluetooth tracking scenes

Nearby Bluetooth quadruplets can also be used to track you as you move. For example, they can be used to track the movements of shoppers in a mall and collect a lot of data to target ads. Think carefully before giving Bluetooth access to apps that request it, as these apps can use it to track the location of your phone when you are near such four hosts.

You can check which apps already have access to your phone’s Bluetooth radio by going to Settings> Privacy> Bluetooth.

Bluetooth app permissions on an iPhone.

RELATED: Why iPhone and iPad apps ask to use Bluetooth

cell Tower

Your mobile operator can determine your rough location. This works by triangulation – by measuring the relative signal strength of your phone to three different cell towers, your carrier can have a pretty good idea of ​​where your phone is relative to all through towers. It’s similar to how GPS works, actually. If you use a phone and have a mobile connection, there is no way to avoid this.

Mobile operators have been found that sell this location information to shady third-party companies, but have promised to stop.

In 2020, the FCC proposed that AT&T, Spring, Verizon and T-Mobile would find more than $ 200 million to sell their customers’ seats.

RELATED: Can anyone really trace the exact location of my phone?




Source link