قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Block contacts, spam and unknown senders in iOS 13's app so incoming mail goes directly to trash «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

Block contacts, spam and unknown senders in iOS 13's app so incoming mail goes directly to trash «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Apple's Mail app has always been an elegant yet easy way to check and send email. Third-party apps support the benefit of powerful tools and features that help keep spam and spam out of your sight. But with iOS 13, you don't need them because Apple gave the Mail app some requested superpowers. One of them is the ability to block senders from sending you email.

When you block someone with the Mail app in iOS 13, you don't block them in the traditional sense. Unlike blocking a contact in Messages or on Facebook, blocking a sender in Mail will send that person's emails directly to your trash or simply mark the emails blocked in your inbox. Alternatively, for people you want to block, the trash can is best, especially if you have your trash folder set to dry by itself after a short time.

Currently, Apple groups all blocked contacts and spammers into a folder. So if you have previously blocked face numbers for FaceTime, Messages or Phone, you will see them next to any contacts or unknown senders that you block for Mail.

Select your block settings

Before you block senders, you want to choose how Mail handles blocked contacts. In the Settings app, tap "Email" and then look for the section Threading . Click "Blocked Sending Options" there, and you have three options:

  • None that disables all email blocking.
  • Mark as blocked, Leave in Inbox which does exactly what it sounds like but you do not receive notifications for these emails that you would do for others.
  • Move to Trash which moves to your Trash. You can empty the trash manually or have it automatically done in your account settings.

These settings apply to all accounts you have in Mail, not just iCloud. So it will apply to email accounts from Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo and others.

Option 1: Block a sender from an email

So you got a message from someone you would rather not hear from again – whether you know them or not. Fortunately, iOS makes it easy to block that person directly from the email. First, click the contact field at the top of the email to reveal all parties to the mailing list. Then click on the contact address you want to block.

When you do so, Mail opens an expanded options menu for this address. Find and press "Block this contact" and then press it again at the following prompt in the action sheet. Success! Email will block the contact, which means that all future incoming emails will redirect to your trash or will be delivered to your inbox silently.

Emails past and present from the blocked sender will have a blocked hand icon next to the date in the email header. You will also receive a rejection warning at the top of the email and say "This message comes from a sender in your blocked list." You can tap "Settings" in the alert to visit Mail's settings, where you can choose how you want Mail to handle email messages from your blocked contacts.

The blocked hand icon is also displayed next to emails in list views.

Unblock a sender from an email

If you undo your decision immediately, you can go back to the contact's information card described above and then press "Unblock this contact" to reverse the action. They will be blocked immediately, although it may take a second before the small blocked hand symbols and blocked alerts disappear.

Option 2: Block a contact within settings

If you know you want to block a contact but do not have an email from them at hand, you can also stop their incoming messages via Settings . First, open "Mail" in the setup app. Then scroll down and tap "Blocked."

If you've ever blocked a phone number or email address (for calls and messages) from FaceTime, Messages, Phone or Settings, you will notice all of them here. Currently, Apple rounds up all blocked contacts in a list, regardless of which app settings you access that list from. It seems a little messy at first, but maybe Apple has something in the works for a future layout.

Click "Add New" at the bottom to continue.

Then select one of your contacts to block when prompted. When you do that, all numbers and email addresses add to themselves in the blocked list. If you want to add someone who is not in your contacts, you must use Option 1 above to do so directly from Mail. The Settings option only lets you select from contacts that have already been saved in your Contacts app.

Unblock a contact or sender from settings

Because blocking by someone using the Preferences method adds all contact information to the blocked list, you may want to deselect a specific email address or phone number. It can be done quickly from the "Blocked" list. Because senders that you have blocked from emails also show up here, you can also block them from here.

Short swipe left on a contact phone number or email address, then press "Unblock." You can also just wrap it so that it is blocked automatically. Alternatively, you can press "Edit" in the upper right, press the red minus button next to the phone number or email address you want to deselect, and then press "Unblock."

Things to keep in mind

Now, remember – blocking email addresses doesn't stop you from receiving messages from them. It feels that way until you check your trash, where any correspondence from blocked addresses will go.

Also note that blocking someone's email address only applies in the future. If you already have emails from a blocked person or company in your inbox, opened or unopened, they will not automatically go to the Junk folder after blocking them. However, they will show a small gray hand gesturing to stop to indicate that they are coming from a blocked sender.

When you open an email from a blocked sender, whether an old one in your inbox or one that was sent directly to the Recycle Bin, it will have a warning saying that "This message comes from a sender in your blocked list. " You can press "Settings" to deselect them, which will push you to the Mail section of Settings, where you have to press "Blocked" to get to the list.

If you want to set the Recycle Bin to delete itself automatically, you can do so from "Password and Account" in Settings. For an iCloud email, go to iCloud -> iCloud -> Mail -> Advanced -> Delete. You can choose between never or after a day, week or month. For third-party email accounts, click the account name, such as "Yahoo." Then, Account -> Advanced -> Delete where you have the same option. Not all third-party services allow you to do so from iOS settings.

Have an iPhone? Check out all 200+ new features coming in iOS 13 .

And be sure to follow Gadget Hacks on Pinterest, Reddit, Twitter YouTube and Flipboard for all the latest iOS 13 and iPhone 11 updates.

Cover image and screenshots of Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks [19659048]
Source link