قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Block people from ever sending, calling or emailing your iPhone again

Block people from ever sending, calling or emailing your iPhone again



apple-iphone-se 1403

Are you tired of being annoyed by constant messages or conversations? We’ll show you how to stop it.

Patrick Holland / CNET

Dealing with downtime calls and messages from lawyers, marketers, exes or local companies is exhausting, but you do not have to deal with it. With only a few taps on yours iPhone screen, you can block a phone number or email address and grant relief from the alert attack. The best part? After stopping that call or email in its tracks, the person you blocked will never know you did.

Personally, I have used the iPhone’s built-in tool for stop robocalls that kept coming through even after I have set up several apps and services that are designed to block them. I even blocked a local car dealer from calling me once a week to double check a car I no longer own, even though I repeatedly told them so much. Now these calls never come through.

This is how you can get rid of unwanted calls and messages once and for all. Watch the video below for a step-by-step guide to blocking callers and contacts on your iPhone.

Block a phone number, email address or contact

The process of blocking someone can be done in four different apps, each following similar steps. You do not have to go through the process multiple times to block the same number or email from all apps. Block someone in an app, and they will be blocked in the four apps below.

block-telephone-call-ios

It only takes a couple of taps to block a phone number, email address or contact to get hold of you.

Screenshots by Jason Cipriani / CNET

  • Phone: Find the phone number or contact you want to block on the Recents tab, then press the “i” button next to the option. Select Block this caller at the bottom of the screen and confirm your choice.
  • FaceTime: Press “i” next to the contact, phone number or email address you want to block. Scroll to the bottom of the page and press Block this caller and confirm your choice.
  • Message: Open the conversation and tap the contact at the top of the screen. Then select “i” and then press name, phone number or email address. At the bottom of the page is one Block this caller button; press it and confirm.
  • Mail: Open the message that contains the person you want to block, tap the email address you want to block and then select Block this contact.

If you do not use Apple’s Mail app but instead use Gmail or Outlook, it will not affect their messages that appear in your inbox when you block someone in Mail.

What happens when you block someone?

When someone is blocked in the FaceTime, Messages or Phone app, incoming calls go directly to the voicemail. They may even leave you a message that will be silently displayed in the voicemail section of the phone app, but hidden in a Blocked messages section.

Messages or FaceTime calls do not appear on your Apple devices, and the person you blocked does not receive a warning or become wiser. They will have the impression that you are ignoring them.

Blocking someone in the Mail app will cause their messages to go to the Trash for their respective email account.

unblock-any-ios

You can unblock someone as easily as you blocked them should you have a heart attack.

Screenshots by Jason Cipriani / CNET

View your block list or unblock someone

If you have changed your heart and want to remove someone from the block list, you need to open it settings app and select Phone, FaceTime, messages or Mail from the list. The first three choices each have Blocked contacts setting, while Mail will have one Blocked alternative.

No matter which settings page you use, swipe left over their listed names when you find the person you want to unblock.






Now playing:
Check this out:

Tips for stopping robocalls




01:04

Your blocked list is the same between phone, FaceTime Mail and notifications, so you do not have to visit every app and delete the contact every time. You can delete someone from the Phone Settings page and they will be deleted from Messages, FaceTime and Mail (or vice versa).

Once you have rid yourself of annoying messages and callers, learn how to prevent most robocalls from reaching your phone. You can also go extreme and prevent all incoming calls from unknown numbers from ever ringing on your phone. Verizon has already launched call blocking support with iOS 14, so hopefully we see more carriers following suit before it is released this fall.


Source link