If you have not used the privacy feature that Facebook introduced last year, you really need to get started. It is calledand it lets you see and control data that apps and websites share with the platform and continue to monitor what information third-party apps can access.
With the privacy feature, you can clear the history of apps and websites that have shared your data. You can also turn off future Off-Facebook activity, which tells Facebook to disconnect all information that the company has shared from your account. Or you can selectively choose which companies you want to stop sharing your activity with and it will stop showing you the targeted ads.
Here’s how to put one together for use with your Facebook privacy.
This is how the Activity Tool works outside of Facebook
With Facebook’s business tools, you can see what information apps and websites have sent to Facebook. From there, you can clear the information from your account and suspend future “off-Facebook activity” from your account. You can check this for all apps and websites so that they can no longer share your search activity with Facebook.
To get started, go to Settings and privacy > settings > Your Facebook information > Activity outside of Facebook. From there, you can manage your activity outside of Facebook, clear all history and turn off all future activity on your account.
What happens when you turn off activity handled by Off-Facebook
After clearing the activity handled by the tool, Facebook deletes your identifying information that the apps and websites share. This means that Facebook does not know which websites you visited or what you looked at, so you do not see any targeted ads from those websites.
What more can you do
If you want to check which ads you see (or not) on Facebook, go to yours settings on your phone or desktop and select ad Settings.
Under Advertisers and Companies, you can see which advertisers have shown ads with a list uploaded to Facebook with your information. By choosing a company and then choosing Do not let, you do not see ads from advertisers when using a list from that company.
You can also go to ad Settings and turn off ads based on partner data, ads based on your activity on Facebook Company products that you see elsewhere, and ads that include your social actions. However, doing so will not delete any data and you will still see the same number of ads as before. The activity function outside of Facebook is the best way to delete your data.
Want to know how to further control your privacy online? here isand . Also, .