قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Facebook uploaded 1.5 million email addresses without permission. Find out if you played a role

Facebook uploaded 1.5 million email addresses without permission. Find out if you played a role



Recently, Facebook acknowledged that the "accidental" imported contact lists from 1.5 million people without consent from May 2016. Even if you do not have a Facebook account, you may have been affected by one of your friends signed up for a new account. And if a family member's friends have received a new account, either for the first time or as a professional or business site, it may be your email address that feeds the social networking ad targeting and friend setting system.

While Facebook no no longer requires your password to register an account, it is the latest event to shake confidence in Facebook's ability to protect its approximately 2.3 billion users.

You can check to see if your contacts have been uploaded and can delete your contact list from the cache in Facebook.

  facebook-logos-15

Angela Lang / CNET

Delete Your Imported Contacts

Unfortunately, unless Facebook contacts you, the only way to know if your contacts were imported is to look at your uploaded contacts. Like this.

Step 1 : When logged in to Facebook on your Android or iPhone ($ 1000 on Amazon) tap on the three stacked lines and select Settings from Settings and confidentiality . If you are using a desktop, click the down arrow and select Settings.

Step 2 : Scroll down to Your Facebook information (desktop users must click on this) and press Get access to your information.

Step 3 : Scroll down to the section Information about you . Tap About you and select your address books.

You will be a page that says Manage your invitations and uploaded contacts. This screen shows all your contacts that have been imported. If you do not see a long list of contacts, your account has not been affected and you do not need to proceed to the next step. Hint: It will say "You have no imported contact information."

Step 4 : Click "Delete All". This will remove all of your contacts imported from your email account, but you will need to follow the next step to keep them from importing.

Read: Facebook doesn't really understand privacy or security

  facebook-messenger-dark-mode "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/J2d2EpRfWe1pABPKAZ6DnVceU_k=/ 2019/04/17 / 38cf5327-f890-4a9c-bf62-6d9f389b840c / facebook -messenger-dark-mode.jpg

Facebook Messenger comes in dark mode now, by the way.


Jason Cipriani / CNET

Here's how to keep Facebook from uploading your friends' email addresses

To prevent these contacts from being re-imported, follow the following steps on every device you have logged into Facebook – yes It means your phone and your tablet. Yes, it is a pain that you have to do several times. But your friends will thank you for not sharing the information.

Step 1 : Touch the stacked three rows at the top of the app and select Settings and Privacy . Tap Settings.

Step 2 : Scroll down to the section Media and Contacts . Tap Upload contacts.

Step 3 : Tighten the button to the left to disable contacts from automatically uploading. Make sure you do this for every device you have Facebook on.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Playing now:
See here:

Google and Amazon make peace, Facebook collects data …



01:29

What if I use the Facebook Messenger app?

It's easy! Tap your profile picture in the upper left corner. Tap People, and then tap Upload contacts to turn off the setting. Do this for all devices that use Messenger.

When you turn off contact upload, all contacts you sent to Messenger are deleted – intentionally or not –

Read : When you turn on dark mode in Facebook Messenger, you never go back [19659034] Remove Facebook

Step 1 : Go to Settings> Your Facebook Information.

Step 2 : If you are using the phone, tap Account Ownership and Control. If you use a computer, click Delete your account and information.

Step 3 : On your phone: Select Delete account and continue. On a computer: Click Delete My Account.

Step 4 : You will be prompted to enter your password. Select Continue and then "Delete Account."

Be sure to save any photos or videos you want before deleting your account. Once you have deleted your account you will not have access to anything on your profile anymore.

Originally Posted on April 23, 2019.


Source link