Google Drive has a pretty bad spam problem, and Google doesn't seem to care. Spammers can share files that are automatically displayed in your device, and there is no way to stop it.
Here's what happens
Google Drive sharing system is the problem. Because it does not offer any involvement, all files and folders shared with your account are automatically available to you in Drive-they only appear. To make matters worse, if you only have "Show" permissions, you cannot remove yourself from the sharing. It's a mess. And to make things even worse, it's far from a new problem, but Google still hasn't done anything to fix it.
Here is the scenario: a spammer (or someone else) shares a file or folder with you. This file or folder appears immediately in the "Quick Access" area of your device and in the "Shared with you" section. You can't stop this happening ̵1; you don't have to accept the share. It turns out if you want it or not. The good news is that the files are not automatically added to your device and thus are not downloaded or synchronized automatically to your devices.
Now you can right-click on the object and select "Delete" to prevent it from appearing in the "Shared with me" section, but it will still appear in the Quick Access area and search results. If you accidentally open the file or folder, it will be added to your Drive on the Web.
Why is this a problem?
There are some scenarios where this is a rather big problem. The first, as mentioned earlier, is for spam. Users can (and will) be bombarded with crap they do not want all the time.
The second question may be even more common: when you do not want to be part of a shared file / folder anymore. Since there is no way to remove you from the stock, you are stuck in it. This can be particularly worrying if the shared file or folder is from an ex with which you no longer have or want to contact .
Four weeks ago, I discovered that I was still sharing a Google Run folder on photos that I abuse ex-controls and actively posting photos.
At the same time, I learned that there is ** no way to remove your own access from a folder that you have only accessed **.
– jlord jag 🇩🇰 again (@jllord) December 27, 2018
To make things worse, Google Drive does not offer a block function. Even if you block someone in Gmail, it doesn't block them in Drive. It seems to be a common thing with Google's services – just because you block someone in a service doesn't mean they're blocked in any of the others (but maybe they are?). It's a mess.
All told, Google Drive offers spam reporting, but when we tested the feature, it targeted 404 pages half the time. When it worked, the document was still not removed or blocked from Drive.
Google can easily solve the problem
The most frustrating part of the problem is that the solution is so simple: Google needs to add an accept function and a removal function that works. With Dropbox, when someone shares a file with you, you must accept the sharing before it appears in your Dropbox. If you never accept the file, guess what? It never appears in your Dropbox folder.
Even in Dropbox, the user is free to remove himself from a common file or folder even if they are set to "display status" . It's a big advantage over Drive and something that Google should steal from Dropbox.
So what can you do right now?
It's the hell of it: there's nothing you can do. You cannot prevent people from sharing files or folders with you, and you cannot remove yourself from shares when they enter (again only if the file is set to "show only").
You can right click on the file and select "Delete" to hide it from your "Shared with me" list, but as we mentioned earlier, the file or folder is still displayed in the search results and quick access area . It's better than nothing, but not so much.
How to check Privileges
So, how do you know what privileges you have for a certain part? First right-click on the file in Google Drive and then select "Show details".
If you see your profile picture with the one who shared it, you have editing permission and you can remove yourself from that part. If you only see their profile picture, you can only see the split and you get stuck with it.
Here's how to mark a file as spam
You can also try to mark shared files as spam, but the use is much limited . It only works with Google Docs files (Docs, Sheets, Slides, etc.). All other types of files are limited.
Do this, open the document in question, and then click Help. From there, select "Report Abuse / Copyright".
On the next page, select "Spam" as the violation you report. Click on "Send report" and that's it. The file will still be in your device, and it is unclear what Google does with this information. I reported a file, and it was still in my drive four days later, so do whatever you want.
Otherwise you are just unlucky. We went out to Google for comments but haven't heard anything back yet. We update if we do.