قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Here's how to set an expiration date when sharing files on Google Drive

Here's how to set an expiration date when sharing files on Google Drive



Sharing a file from Google Drive is a great way to let customers and entrepreneurs access documents without having to download them. If you only want people to have temporary access to files, you can set an automatic expiration date when you share them. Like this.

Note: To use this feature, you must have a paid G Suite account as the owner of the document. People with whom you share documents do not need a paid account to view the documents.

How to set an expiration date on Google Drive files

Turn off Google Drive associated with your G Suite account, right-click the file you want to share, then click "Share" on the shortcut menu.

Add the email addresses of all persons with whom you want to share the file and then click the "Submit" button. If you send the invitation to a Gmail account, these people will automatically be added to the list of people who can access the file. If you submit to another type of address, each person will receive an email with a link addressed to the file.

Right-click the file and click the "Share" command again.

This time, share the option open, click the "Advanced" link.

In addition to each person's contact information, you will see a timer icon. Click it to enter an expiration date.

From here, click on the "Access Expires" menu to select 7 days, 30 days or to enter a custom expiration date.

Selecting the "Custom Date" option opens a calendar to select a more precise date.

To specify a due date for someone else, click the timer next to their name. You must enter a due date for each person.

Finally, click "Save Changes" to complete the changes you've made to all users.

There is a caution in which you should be aware. By default, people you share can retrieve, print, or copy the file, and if they do, they will have access to those copies after the expiration date you set. You can set their permission to view only and then turn on "Disable options to download, print and copy to commenters and viewers" to prevent this, but they will not be able to edit the document.

Still, if you have people who only need temporary access to view or comment on a document, this feature works well.


Source link