قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How do I delete a Gmail account? – Here are the best ways to handle

How do I delete a Gmail account? – Here are the best ways to handle



Gmail logo on smartphone stock photo 2

A Google Account gives you access to all Google services including Gmail, YouTube, Drive and more. But what if you have had enough and want out? Can you delete Gmail account information? Yes, you can definitely delete a Gmail account forever.

Read more: How to remove everything Google knows about you

Before shutting things down, keep in mind that there is a lot of data you will lose if you delete your Google Account. That’s not to say you shouldn’t do it. Maybe you have a secondary account that you no longer use or have any other reason to turn on kill-switch. If you want to delete your Google Account permanently, it’s pretty easy to do. Let’s take a look.

Delete Gmail account

Delete Gmail account for good – things to know before leaving

Deleting your Google Account has a lot of data that you lose access to, including:

  • All Google services, such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, and more, along with all the information associated with those accounts, such as email, photos, and notes.
  • Subscriptions or content purchased from YouTube or Google Play Movies, books or music.
  • Information stored with Chrome, including access to all free or paid Chrome apps and extensions.
  • If you use an Android smartphone, you will also lose access to contacts linked to this account, as well as all data backed up with Android Backup services.
  • Finally, you will also lose your username permanently. You will not be able to register with the same username after deleting your account.

Things to do before leaving

If you’ve been using your Google Account for a while, you probably have some important data to save, such as emails, notes, photos, and other information. If there is not much, you can download them individually, but Google offers an easy way to back up all your information.

  • Open your Google Account settings by going to accounts.google.com.
  • Go to “Data & personalization” using the menu on the left or by finding the section “Privacy & personalization” on the main page.
  • Scroll down to “Download, delete or create a plan for your data.”
  • You’ll find a complete list of Google services associated with your account. You can individually select the information to be downloaded. Everything is automatically selected by default.
  • You can choose to receive a download link via email or save it in cloud services such as Drive, OneDrive, Box or Dropbox. You can also select the export frequency, file type and maximum size of the compressed archive.
  • Depending on how much information is archived, the whole process can take a while.

Also keep in mind that you may have your Gmail address linked to other services as well, such as bank accounts and other websites, so make sure you keep track of these accounts and update the information accordingly before deleting Gmail account info.


Deleting your Gmail account is not difficult

  • Go to “Data & personalization” and scroll down to “Download, delete or create a plan for your data.”
  • Click “Delete a service or your account.”
  • Click “Delete Google Account” to complete the process.
  • At the bottom of the page, there are two confirmations you must accept before you can press the “Delete Account” button to permanently delete your Google Account.

Delete only specific services

  • Go to “Data & Personalization” and scroll down to “download, delete or create a plan for your data.”
  • Click “Delete a service or your account.”
  • Click “Delete a Google service” to complete the process.
  • You’ll find the complete list of Google services associated with your account. You can remove access to these apps and features individually.

Restore a recently deleted account

If you have deleted your Google Account and immediately regret it, you will have a short window to restore it.

  • Go to the account recovery page.
  • Select “I have other problems logging in.”
  • Then follow the instructions on the page to see if you can restore the account. Keep in mind that this may not be possible. If you have deleted Gmail and added another email address outside of Google in order to access other Google services, it will not be possible to reset your Gmail username.


Source link