قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How do you protect your privacy and are secure on Instagram

How do you protect your privacy and are secure on Instagram



Instagram is a great way to share photos with friends, family and the rest of the world, but it can also open you to privacy and security risks. However, it does not have to be so. It's easy to protect yourself and get the most from what Instagram has to offer.

Here are five ways to keep your account safe. There are separate instructions for the web and mobile apps and notes where iOS and Android applications differ.


  Instagram, privacy

Make your account private

Take a simple privacy step by changing your public account to a private one. This lets you share your photos with a selected group of people while being hidden from everyone else. That way, only people you really care about will be aware of your activities.

On mobile

  • Go to your profile by pressing the "person" icon at the bottom right of the screen. Turn left and press the Switch Settings icon shown.
  • Select "Privacy and Security" and then "Account Integrity."
  • Change "Private Account" on.

On the Web

  • Click on the "person" icon in the upper right corner and look for the shift icon next to your name.
  • Select "Privacy and Security" and then "Account Integrity."
  • Click the Private Account checkbox.

From now on, only your existing followers will be able to see your posts. Everyone else will need to send you a follow-up request first.


  Instagram block followers

Block specific followers

If one of your followers gets annoying (or worse), you can also block specific followers from seeing your posts. (Don't worry, followers are not notified that you have blocked them.)

On mobile

  • Touch "Followers" at the top of the main menu.
  • Search for the followers you want to block.
  • If you use iOS, tap the three horizontal dots next to their name. If you use Android, tap the three vertical dots. Select "Delete".

On the Web

  • Click on the person icon and then on "Followers."
  • Search for the followers you want to block.
  • Click on that person's icon and look for the three horizontal dots to the right of their name. Select "Block this user."

  Instagram Two Factor Authentication 2fa

Turn on Two Factor Authentication

Worried that someone is logging into your Instagram account and posing like you? Turn on two-factor authentication, which sends a text message with an authentication code every time you log in to Instagram on a new device.

On mobile Switch on "Text Message."
  • If you prefer to use an authentication app like Google Authenticator instead, select "Authentication App" instead. The app sees if you already have one installed. If you do not, it will suggest one.
  • On the Web

    • Go to the person icon and then click on the gear icon.
    • Click "Privacy and Security"> "Edit Two Factor Authentication Settings"
    • Check "Text Message". If you have an authentication app available, you can also check "Use authentication app." Otherwise

      Instagram revoke access app

    Prevent third-party applications from getting data

    There are lots of third-party programs asking you to access your Instagram data, like an app that schedules Instagram posts for you. So, before you agree to allow one to access your information, more companies that have private information about you will be more likely to misuse or steal the information. More importantly, make sure you only give Instagram access to apps that really need a need.

    If you want to revoke access to apps that already have it, you must use the web interface. you cannot do it via the mobile app.

    • Log in to Instagram in a web browser on a phone or computer and click or tap the person icon at the top right of the screen.
    • Click or tap on the gear icon.
    • Click on "Authorized Apps." (Search for it on the left menu.) You will see a list of apps that are authorized to access Instagram.
    • Click on the "Revoke Access" button for all apps you want unauthorized and then select "Yes".

      Instagram account activity changes password

    Check if someone has hacked your account

    Worried that someone hacked your Instagram account? You can check by seeing your previous account activity, including logins, logs, changing passwords, and more.

    • Use the mobile app by going to "Settings"> "Privacy and Security"> "Access Data." On the web, press the "person" icon at the top right of the screen. Click on the gear icon and select "Privacy and security"> "View account data."
    • You come to an information page that has a lot of information about how your account has been used. You can click any category to get more information, such as "Changes to account integrity", "Logins", "Logouts", "Hashtags you follow" and so on.
    • Pay special attention to "Changes to Account Integrity", "Password Changes", "Logins", "Logouts" and "Stories Activity." If you see something that is not known it may mean that someone else is using your account. Immediately change your password to lock them.

    Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not affect editorial content, but Vox Media can earn commissions for products purchased through affiliate links. For more information, see our Ethics Policy .


    Source link