قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to do a run or ride privately on Strava

How to do a run or ride privately on Strava



The Strava app on a smartphone next to a bicycle tire.
Nutthanun Gunthasen / Shutterstock.com

Strava does not have the best reputation for privacy and by default all your activities are public and visible to everyone. However, you can change the privacy settings for all activities.

The three options are:

  • Visible to everyone, whether they have a Strava account or not
  • Can be seen for your followers
  • Only visible to you

We suggest that you follow our guide to turn off Strava̵

7;s privacy settings so that at most only approved followers can see your activities. But if you want to present on Strava’s segment list, your activities (or at least your best ones) must be public. How to handle it.

RELATED: How to prevent Strava from publishing your home address

On your computer

To manage Strava privacy settings on a computer, go to the Strava website, view the activity for which you want to change the privacy settings and click on the “Edit” icon (pen) in the sidebar.

edit button

Under “Privacy controls”, change “Who can see” to “All”, “Followers” or “Only you” – depending on which option you want.

You can also check “Hide heart rate data” if you just want to keep it a secret.

alternative

With the Strava app

In the Strava app for iPhone and Android, navigate to the activity for which you want to change the privacy setting. Click the “Settings” icon (three small dots) and then tap “Edit”.

Scroll down to “Privacy Checks” and change “Who can see” to “All”, “Followers” or “Only you” – depending on who you want to see your drive.

You can also toggle “Hide heart rate data” if you just want to keep it hidden.

edit on mobile

To make all previous activities private

If you have been using Strava for a while and want to bulk edit the privacy settings for your previous activities, you can only do so via a web browser. Go to Strava and go to Settings> Privacy. Under “Edit previous activities”, select “Activity visibility” and then click “Next”.

change all settings

Select either “All”, “Followers” or “Only You” and then click “Next”.

Confirm your choice so Strava will update all the activity’s privacy settings at once. If there are any activities you want publicly so that you can appear in a leaderboard, you can change their privacy settings individually.


By default, Strava shares a lot of information that you may not be aware you are sharing. Make sure you use the privacy rules that are available to keep things under control.




Source link