قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to hide, make friends or block someone on Facebook

How to hide, make friends or block someone on Facebook



These days, it is no longer surprising when a friend or acquaintance suddenly breaks out in a rant on your Facebook feed. It can be triggered by anything from a politician’s tweet to a movie spoiler to the type of mask someone wears (or if they wear one at all).

If someone in your Facebook feed has passed what you consider to be a line, you can use a number of methods to remove their posts – or them – out of sight. You can make them friendly, block them, rest them (so you do not see anything from them for 30 days) or simply hide one of their records. Here is an overview of how to accomplish each one.

Note! All of these instructions apply to the “new”

; version of Facebook on the desktop.

Hide a post

Let’s say someone else you like writes a great review of a movie that you absolutely hate. Because you are friends, it will appear on your timeline. You really do not want your other friends to have to read it soincorrect review. Do not sweat it! It’s easy to hide one post so it simply does not appear on your timeline. (Of course, it will still appear on the timeline of the person who wrote it, but there is nothing you can do about it.)

Just click on the three dots at the top right of the entry. You can hide the specific post or “snooze” the person who has posted the post for 30 days. You can also follow up on the person, which means you will no longer see their items on your timeline, but you will not unfriend them.

Note: If you hide a post and then change your mind, you may find it again, even if it takes a while:

  • Click on the arrow at the top right of your Facebook page
  • Select “Settings and privacy”> “Activity log”
  • Look for “Filter” in the column on the left (there will be a small blue link in the upper right corner of the column) and click on it
  • Scroll down to and select “Hidden from the timeline.” Click “Save Changes.”
  • You should see the hidden posts in the left column. Hold the mouse pointer over the entry you want to delete, click on the three dots and you will be able to restore it.

Unfriend someone

You’ve been dating someone you thought might be nice, but it turns out that their policy or attitude towards cat videos or endless posts about obscure horror movies makes you happy. Hiding individual posts does not do it for you. You want to make them friendly.

It’s not hard:

  • Go to their profile (you can either click on their profile photo or search by their name)
  • Click on the “person” icon (it is right next to the “Message” button)
  • Select “Unfriend”> “Confirm”

According to Facebook, the person you are not friends with will not be notified that you have unfriendly them. However, you will no longer be there their the friend list so that they may notice that you are gone. If you change your mind, you will have to go through the normal “friend” process again.

Block someone

Sometimes there is no way around it – a person has really offended you and you do not want them anywhere, anytime, on your timeline. In that case, it’s time to block them.

When you block someone, they will not only be able to post on your timeline. They will not be able to see anything you post on your timeline, tag you, send you an invitation, try to get used to it, or start a conversation with you. And if you’re already friends with them, you’ll also make them friendly.

To block someone:

  • Click on the arrow at the top right of your Facebook page
  • Click “Settings and Privacy”> “Settings”
  • Look for and select “Block” in the left column
  • Look for the “Block users” section in the middle of the page and enter the person’s name – or part of their name – in the “Block users” field.
  • A list will appear with names that match what you entered. Find the person you want to block and click the “Block” button next to their name.

If you change, it is relatively easy to unblock someone – go back to the “Block users” section and you will see a list of everyone you have blocked under the “Block users” field. Just click the “Unblock” button next to their name.


Source link