قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to keep Facebook from tracking your location when not using the app «Smartphones :: Gadget Hacks

How to keep Facebook from tracking your location when not using the app «Smartphones :: Gadget Hacks



When you think of companies that represent pillars as "integrity" or "security", Facebook is quite far from the top of the list. But the social media empire is making progress ̵

1; small steps – to gain confidence in how it manages your user data. One of these efforts is a way to prevent Facebook from tracking your iPhone or Android phone's location when you're not using the app.

Both iOS and Android let you block geolocation data for apps like Facebook, but it's a broad setting that means that Facebook will never know your location even if you want it, maybe to check in somewhere or take a place in a photo. It is the times when you do not actively use Facebook that you probably want to ban geolocation data from reading.

To give you more control, on February 20, 2019, Facebook implemented a new app in the app that lets you block it from tracking your coordinates in the background. While this is a completely new option on Android, you can always limit background geo-tracking on iOS only when using the app, but Facebook makes this obvious.

Preventing location tracking on Android

If you keep " Location History" disabled in the past or never turn it on initially, Facebook automatically disables the new "Background Mode" option so no background tracking will be done. Placement history records your tracked locations on Facebook and is required to use some of Facebook's location-based apps like "Related Friends".

For those of you who have "Location History" enabled or just "whatever you did, there is an easy way to disable it or make sure it's disabled.

Facebook can show you an informational warning about this new one the function of your feed when you open the app, tap on "Manage settings" on it. If you do not see it, tap the menu icon for burgers but go to Settings and privacy -> Settings -> Location -> Location access. Disable slider next to "Background mode "and Facebook will only show your location when using the app.

If you do not see the menu item" Site access "with the Background mode option, it may not have been rolled out to your account, but still try later.

Prevent site tracking g on iOS

Security is one of Apple's stronger sales locations, so it makes sense that iPhones have a dedicated setting to keep site tracking only for use in the app.

While location settings for apps can be easily handled in the main iOS settings, you can start the process by opening the Facebook app yourself. Press the menu icon for the hamburger at the bottom right, tap "Settings and Privacy" and then press "Settings". Press "Location" and then press "Location" again on the following page.

This will push you to Facebook's location settings in the settings app. Press "Location" and make sure "While using the app" is enabled, not "Always."

While you can quickly bypass the Facebook app, go to Settings – > Facebook -> Location or by going to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> Facebook, if you have location services disabled for Facebook, these options will not even appear in the Settings app. Therefore, it is best to start from Facebook yourself.

This article has been produced under the Gadget Hack's special coverage for smartphone privacy and security. Make an anonymous Facebook profile to keep your personal information private

Cover image and screenshots of Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks

19659022]
Source link