قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to record video with two cameras at the same time on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadgethacks

How to record video with two cameras at the same time on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadgethacks



iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max introduced a new rear camera system to the iOS ecosystem. Each model has a new ultra-wide lens in addition to the wide, and the pros have a telephoto lens. Both have improved selfie combs as well. With so many lenses it can be challenging to choose which one to shoot with, but why choose when you could shoot with two at once?

Enter "DoubleTake," by FiLMiC Inc. If you recognize that name, you've probably used its paid video recording app, FiLMiC Pro. The company was new to the iPhone 11 scene and announced in advance that iOS 13 released an exciting way to record video from multiple cameras simultaneously. It took them about four months to complete the feature, but here we are.

Step 1
: Install and enable permissions

The first thing is first: it's not just for the iPhone 11 series. If you have an iPhone X S X S Max, or X R you can also jump into the dual-chamber recording. It makes sense since these iPhone models also have A12 Bionic processor or newer built in to handle dual recording tasks. Devices with A11 Bionic chip or older, such as iPhone X and iPhone 8 Plus, are not supported.

You can install DoubleTake on any iPhone running iOS 13, but unless it's one of the devices mentioned above, you & # 39; I can only record from one lens at a time.

When you first launch DoubleTake, you must grant camera and microphone privileges. Just click on each option and join the permissions window that appears. Press "Continue" to continue.

Step 2: Select your lenses

After leaving the permission screen, you may be a bit confused about what you see because it looks like a regular camera view. Where are the multiple video feeds? Simple: touch the lens icon at the bottom left, choose your lenses.

By default, the "wide" lens should already be selected as your camera "A." Each lens you mark as "A" is your "main camera" that will fill most of the screen. You can deselect the wide lens to select another camera A or stick to it at the moment. Depending on the iPhone model you have, apart from the wide lens, you can see ultra-wide, telephoto and selfie lenses available.

With camera One selected, your next lens will be camera "B." Depending on the shooting mode you select later (see next section), the B lens will either be on the right side of the screen or will appear as an overlay on top of A's feed.

After selecting your two cameras, You can select a frame rate. Click on the "24 FPS" option at the bottom right to choose between 24, 25 or 30 fps. When you are satisfied, click "Confirm" to go to your new dual-lens camera view.

Step 3: Select shooting mode

After confirming your lenses, you will see the flows from both on the screen. But if you start shooting directly, you will get two different video files, one from each camera. So if that's not what you want, you want to change shooting mode. You can choose a new one with the icon in the top right corner.

Discreet

By default the first time you start DoubleTake and select your lenses, you will end up with the camera's B-view overlaid like a small box on top of the camera A's full view. It's called "Discreet" mode, and it produces two separate video files as if you were filming each one separately.

Because Camera B's flow can block what you need to see in A's, you can drag the window to another part of the screen. You may want to use discreet shooting mode if you just want to see a different perspective on the same thing.

Picture-in-Picture

PiP, which stands for Picture-in-Picture, looks identical to Discrete. However, the final product is what you see on screen – exactly. Instead of recording two videos, one from each camera, you get a video with camera A with camera B's window overlaid on top.

The advantage of recording them together as separate videos is most evident with the selfie lens as camera B, which can show your reactions to what happens to one of the rear lenses. As with Discreet, you can move Camera B's window to another location on the screen. Unlike with discreet, it doesn't matter from a filming perspective because wherever you see it on screen when shooting where it is in the last video.

Split Screen

Split Screen takes every camera stream and dedicates equally screen real estate to both. As with PiP, it results in one output, not two different video files. It is good if you are recording an interview, as you can give the same space for both your subject and the interviewer behind the camera.

Step 4: Shoot Your Combined Video

If you have ever used any video recording app before, you know how to shoot. Click the shutter / record button in the bottom right to start filming, and then press it again to stop. While your iPhone shoots built-in 4K, you're limited to 1080p with DoubleTake.

When shooting in discreet or PiP mode, you can press the enlargement button on the top right of camera B to fill the screen. If you like to see this great but need to switch back to Camera A, you can drag the video up or down the screen. To return to Camera B's full view, press the chevron that appears on Camera A.'s feed.

To make the camera's B window smaller again, press the minimize button. If you just want to focus only on Camera A at this point, you can drag Camera B's window to one of the four sides of the frame to make it disappear off the screen. Tap the chevron that appears on Camera A's feed to pull it back into the frame.

Just know that if you shoot with PiP mode, any changes you make to Camera B's window during shooting will appear in your final product. [19659033] How to record two-camera video on your iPhone at the same time ” width=”480″ height=”480″ style=”max-width:532px;height:auto;”/>

While DoubleTake captures images with automatic focus and exposure, you move settings to that area by tapping an area in the frame. You can do this for Camera A's feed in all shooting modes and Camera B's on the split screen only. However, in discrete and PiP modes, you can extend the camera B's window and refocus it from there.

Step 5: View, Export, and Junk Clips

Once you have shot some content you may be wondering where DoubleTake is actually sending it. You will not find it in your Photo app. Instead, tap the save icon in the top left corner of DoubleTake.

Here you can see all the videos you have taken with DoubleTake. If you used Discreet, you found two separate video clips per each camera you selected. You can tap a video to watch it.

Just as with FiLMiC Pro, if you want to select clips, you have to tap the selection icon in the bottom left. Then you can press any number of clips to select them. When you select at least one clip, the other three gray-colored tools will be available. The movie roll icon saves your selected clips to Photos, the sharing icon opens the sharing sheet and the junk icon deletes your selected clips.

And videos that you do not delete will remain stored in the app, so after exporting them you may want to delete them to keep a clean app , because things can get really messy fast.

Don't miss: Automate changes in focus, zoom and exposure in Filmic Pro for smoother drag operations

Cover image, screenshots and GIFs by Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks

Source link