قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to share things from OneDrive

How to share things from OneDrive



  onedrive logo

If you have an Office 365 account (free or paid), you have OneDrive, the Microsoft cloud storage app. Cloud Storage is great for sharing files with other people, so let's see how it works in OneDrive.

You can share OneDrive files from either the OneDrive folder on your computer (the "client interface") or the Office 365 interface, or the OneDrive mobile app. Whichever method is best depends on your situation and preference, but Microsoft is strongly pushing its cloud offerings and that priority is shown in the OneDrive interface. Not to be too nasty about it, but the Office 365 web interface and the OneDrive app are much nicer and more refined than the client interface. The client interface also has at least seven different ways to share, some of which are runners from ways to share things in older versions of Windows. Therefore, we focus on sharing with the OneDrive app and the OneDrive web interface.

Share (and delete) a file via the Mobile OneDrive app

Microsoft has obviously done some effort in its OneDrive app because the sharing option is simple and comprehensive. We use the Android app for our examples here, but the iOS app is similar.

To share a file (or folder), tap the three points next to it.

 The three points that show the file options

] Press "Share" from the menu that appears.

 Share option

This opens the sharing options. By default, OneDrive allows the people you share a file to edit that file. You can change it to show only by tapping the arrow next to "Can edit" and changing it to "Can show" instead. You can also "Enter Expiration Date", which means that the file is only shared for a specific period.

 Sharing options

Note: On the iPhone or iPad mobile app, these work a little different. You will see a link "Show only" in the sharing menu to disable editing. You will see a link settings that allow you to enter an expiration date.

 link settings and only display buttons on iOS

After setting these options you want (or have just left them with the default settings), you can share your file. The top of the sharing options are the default OneDrive sharing options.

 The most important ways to share

These provide the following sharing methods:

  • Copy link: Creates a URL and copies it to the clipboard to paste wherever you want. This link can be used by anyone.
  • Invite People: Sends a link to one or more email addresses that you choose from your contacts or enter manually. This link can only be used by the people you send it to.
  • Send Files: Allows the file to be sent to someone. You can send the file via e-mail or any other communication app on your phone such as Slack or WhatsApp. Unlike "Copy Link" or "Invite People", which provides a link for people to click, it sends a copy of the file. Links can be "undivided" whenever you want, but when you have sent any file they can keep it forever, so just use this if you don't mind the recipient will keep the file.
  • Outlook: If you have Outlook on your phone, this opens an email with the link in it to send you to someone.

Below are all apps and methods that the phone gives you the opportunity to share a file, whether it be Slack, WhatsApp, Signal, LINE, Twitter, Facebook, Bluetooth, WiFi Direct, email or any other app you have installed. Touch the appropriate icon and follow the instructions to share the file.

To delete a file, press the three points next to it and click on the information icon.

 The information icon for the file [19659003] These people have shared the file with "width =" 535 "height =" 594 "src =" / pagespeed_static / 1.JiBnMqyl6S.gif "onload =" pagespeed.lazyLoadImages.loadIfVisibleAndMaybeBeacon (this); "onerror =" this.onerror = null; pagespeed.lazyLoadImages.loadIfVisibleAndMaybeBeacon (this); “/>

Click "Can edit" link (or "Can show" if you shared the file as view only) and select "Stop sharing" from the menu that pops up. Click "OK" to stop sharing the file.

 Radio Shutter Stop Sharing

Sharing (and Removing) a File via the O365 Web Interface

Log in to Office 365 and navigate to OneDrive. [19659003]   O365 app launcher and app tiles

Select the file you want to share and click "Share" in the menu bar at the top.

 Share button on the menu bar

This shows the sharing options for the file and they are much like the OneDrive app. The default sharing option allows people to edit a file you share with them and you can specify an expiration date If you only want the file to be shared for a certain time

 Sharing options in OneDrive

An option that is only available in the OneDrive web interface is to password protect the file by clicking "Enter password". This means that when you create and send out a link to the file, a person will only be able to open the link if they have the password. For security conscious, this is a useful feature and definitely worth using if you have something sensitive to share.

The two primary options for sending the link are "Get a link" and "Email."

  • Get a link: Creates a link that you can copy and paste where you want. This link will work for everyone who has it.
  • Email: Opens a web entry that contains the link, where you can enter one or more email addresses and a message. This link only works for people who access it with the email addresses you specify.

Click on "More" to view specific services you can share in. At the time of writing, these services are limited to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Weibo, and when you click on one of them, a new window opens to log you in. on that service and add the link. Why Microsoft has chosen these four services is a question of presumption, even if they own LinkedIn, and Facebook, Twitter and Weibo probably hold accounts between them for a decent piece of the internet-based population, but why four apps and not five or six, or more? We are not safe, but if you want to share a file in another app, click "Download a link" and paste the link in the app you want.

To remove a file, select it and click the information icon at the top right of the OneDrive page.

 The information button for the file

This will retrieve the file properties. Click "Manage Access" to see who you have shared the file with.

 Manage access link

A list of sharing links is displayed and shows who can access the file and what permissions

 The sharing links that have been created

To change permissions, such as just editing a file view or adding password protection, click the arrow below the link. To stop sharing the file, click "x" next to the link. A warning message will appear.

 Delete warning dialog

Click "Remove link" to stop sharing the file. This only removes this link so if you want to stop sharing the file completely, you must delete all the sharing links you created for it.


Source link