قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to use the tool to clear the conversation in Outlook

How to use the tool to clear the conversation in Outlook



Some people like to keep their Outlook folders fully controlled, emails nicely categorized and stored in a logical, minimal folder structure. Most of us are not so, so Microsoft has provided tools to help. One of these tools is the small known call Cleanup Utility, which removes or moves redundant emails from a conversation. This is how it works.

You can run the Conversation Clean Up tool against a single conversation, folder or folder, and all its subfolders. It is looking for unnecessary emails, which means those that are entirely included in another message in the conversation. It then removes (by default) or moves these emails to another folder depending on how you've set it. This helps keep your mailbox filled with multiple copies of the same message.

First, you must set the dialing parameters. Go to File> Options> Email, then scroll down to the "Conversation Cleanup" section.

By default, call retrieval removes items but if you want to move redundant items to a folder instead, you can click "Browse" and select the folder you want to move to. This is useful if you want to double check that the messages that the tool is really are unnecessary. The Conversation Cleanup tool is reliable in our experience, but sometimes there is no compensation to check things yourself.

You may probably leave the other default options because they are because they make a lot of sense, but if your situation or settings are different, continue and turn the parameters on or off as you think fit. Once you have the settings as you like, click "OK" to return to Outlook.

Now you need to open the tool. Click the "Clean Up" button on the "Home" tab. In the drop-down menu, you can clear the call selected in the folder, entire folder or entire folder and all subfolders.

You can also access this menu by clicking Folder> Clear Folder if you do not need the "Clear Calls" option.

We're using Clean Up Folder for now, but the process is the same if you clean up a conversation, folder or folder and its subfolders. And for a one-click option, right-click a folder in the navigation pane and select "Clear Folder."

The first time you run this utility, a warning appears,

If you want the tool to run without seeing this popup, enable "Do not show this message again "

Click" Clean Up Folder "to run the tool (if you do not turn on" Do not show this message again "then the tool will run from this time as soon as you choose it ). When the tool is running, which may take a while if you run it for the first time in a multiple-folder folder, a status message appears in the box at the bottom of Outlook.

You can continue to use Outlook while running. When the status message disappears, the tool has been completed. It will not tell you that it is clear – the tool is designed to run in the background to help you, not bombard you with messages – but it will tell you if there are no messages to clean up.

That's all there is. When we ran this tool in a sample folder of 2487 emails, it found 502 mail that could be deleted. Over a fifth of the emails in the folder were redundant, so it's an eye opener and a tool that's worth using if you're out of space or tired of wading through conversations.


Source link