Zombie apps are a real problem for iPhones ($ 1000 on Amazon) of every stripe. It happens when you delete an app, just to restore your latest backup or connect your iPhone to iTunes, and see and see, the app will return to your homepage. What happens?
What happens is that when you back up your iPhone to iCloud, Apple's online storage service does not completely remove app data, only if you have it installed on another iOS device. For example, you may want to remove Facebook from your iPhone, but leave it on your iPad ($ 280 on Amazon) .
But maybe you're ready to remove that app. These are the steps to permanently remove an app from all your devices.
Start with your iPhone or iPad
Step 2 : Press X in the upper left corner of the app.
Step 3 : A box appears saying "Remove [name of app]? If you delete this app, it will also be deleted." Touch Delete .
Step 4 : Press Done (for iPhone X ($ 950 at best purchase) and later) or press Home button (for iPhone 8 ($ 640 at Walmart) or earlier).
Read: How to back up your iPhone before installing iOS 12
Remove the app from iCloud
Step 1 : Go to Settings and tap your profile (name) .
Step 2 : Press iCloud.
Step 3 : Touch Manage Storage. On this screen you will see your current iCloud storage available.
Step 4 : Select Backups from the list. You will see all devices currently using the iCloud backup storage.
Step 5 : Select the current iPhone you are using. Tip: It will say "This iPhone."
Step 6 : You will see a small list of apps under Select data to back up. Tap Show All Apps.
Step 7 : Find the app or apps that you want to delete permanently and slide the white point to the left so that the color changes from green to white.
Step 8 : A window will pop up asking "Do you want to turn off [selected app] backups and delete backup data from iCloud?" Press Turn Off and Delete.
Now your apps will be permanently deleted on your iPhone (and other iOS devices) and will never be downloaded if you sync your device to iTunes.
What happens if I delete an app I paid for?
If you delete an app you purchased and decide you want it back, you can always go back to the App Store and download the app at no extra cost. It's yours for life.
CNET can get a commission from the retail.