Spotify introduces a new feature called Group Sessions for all Premium subscribers. With it, two or more Spotify users can share control of a listening session without sending a phone around the room. Participants in group sessions can control real-time song playback, add songs to a queue, or contribute to a group playlist.
Group listening is safe and easy to install. Just open Spotify's "Connect to a device" tab from the bottom left corner of the player window and press "Connect with Friends." A small window with a code appears along with the option to pull up your camera and scan a friend's code. The group listening session ends after an hour of inactivity, or after disabling group listening from the "Connect to a device" tab.
Unfortunately, group listening is only available to premium customers. For example, you cannot share controls with a Spotify Free user. That said, the app doesn't seem to limit the number of users who can join a group listening session ̵1; though I'm not sure why you want to share music controls with more than four or five people.
The Group Session feature was originally leaked in May 2019 by Jane Manchun Wong the reverse engineer known for revealing Facebook and Instagram features months before they were released. Obviously, Spotify built this feature for social gatherings and parties, but the company is currently marketing it as a way to share music with roommates and family members, for obvious reasons.
Spotify expects to fine-tune and update group listening over time, and may add a method for sharing music with distant friends in the future (meanwhile, you can DJ with friends digitally through the JQBX website). Group registration may not appear on your Spotify app yet, as it is still being rolled out to Premium users.
Source: Spotify via TechCrunch