قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / What is AutoArchive in Outlook and how does it work?

What is AutoArchive in Outlook and how does it work?



If you have used the Mailbox Cleaning Tool, you have seen the AutoArchive button, but you can be careful about how it works and what it should do. Here's what it does and how to use it.

If you click the AutoArchive button, you get a process to swing through all the folders in Outlook and apply all AutoArchive rules you have set (do not worry, the default AutoArchive rule is doing nothing so you can not hurt by clicking the button). However, if you want to move your older objects to an archive where they are out, AutoArchive is how to automate the process. Let's review the setting and run it.

To enable AutoArchive

First, you must enable AutoArchive and select its settings. Go to File> Options> Advanced, and then click the "AutoArchive Settings" button.

As long as the option "Run AutoArchiv each" is turned off (which is the default value), AutoArchive never runs

When you rotate on the "Run AutoArchive each" option, all options now available.

Unlike folder cleaning, which has a window of settings in File Options and allows you to run the settings to which folder you want as a manual task. The AutoArchive settings shown here are the default settings. Any folder that has AutoArchive enabled can use these default settings, or you can use different settings for different folders if you want. We will review how you do it later, but for now, let's look at the default settings.

Here's how to set AutoArchive

The first thing you notice is that when AutoArchive is turned on, it will run every 14 days. You can change it using the up and down arrows or by typing a number and you can choose any value from 1 to 60 days. You can enter a two-digit number, but if it is more than 60, Outlook will display an error message when you click "OK" and you must change the value before you can save.

Next Options- "Ask Before AutoArchive Drives" – Provides you with the option to have Outlook show you a prompt before AutoArchive happens. With this prompt, you can review the settings or cancel this AutoArchive drive if you wish.

Other settings apply to which items are to be archived and what happens during the archiving process. The first option here – "Delete deleted items (email folder only)" – applies to e-mails that have expired on a date. This does not affect data or events, even if you enable AutoArchive for those folders.

The rest of the settings apply to all records, not just e-mail. This means calendar events, tasks, notes and journal entries.

If you assume you leave "Archive or delete old items," the default settings for Outlook are to move objects older than 6 months to a new separate .pst file named File (by default) and make it visible in the navigation pane of Outlook so that you can access the archived items at any time. You can change the value "Clear older than" to something from 1 day to 60 months, choose another .pst file to archive the items or select "Remove old items permanently."

Be warned that this deletion bypasses the Deleted Items folder, and your items are completely deleted from Outlook. You can still access it on your email server, depending on your settings, but you should not rely on this. Just select this option if you want to delete the items forever.

When you click "OK" AutoArchive will turn on. It will run in line with "Run AutoArchive each" value you have chosen (every 14 days by default), starting today. So when you turn it on, you should expect it to run quite fast. In our tests, it took less than ten minutes to turn it on and receive the prompt and announced that AutoArchive would run. By default, AutoArchive runs in a few folders, so if you want it run on specific folders, or if you want to customize how it works in different folders, continue reading.

How to enable and customize AutoArchive for different folders [19659000] Tasks
  • If you want it run in another folder,
  • Shared Objects
  • Calendar
  • Details
  • About You want it to run in any other folder, you must turn it on for each folder (or turn it off on any of the four folders against which you do not want it to run). Do this by right-clicking on the folder in the navigation pane and clicking on "Properties".

    You can also access folder properties by selecting Folder> Folder Properties in the band. (For folders such as Calendar and Tasks not shown in the Navigation window, the only way to access folder properties.) There is also the option to go directly to AutoArchive Settings, saving you a step when you "

    In the Folder Properties window, click the AutoArchive tab to access the settings for the current folder.

    For most folders, use "Do not archive items in this folder" will be enabled by default. This means that when the AutoArchive process is running, the folder is ignored and no objects in it will be archived. To include the folder, turn on "Archive items in this folder using the default settings.".

    If you want the AutoArchive settings for this folder to differ from the default values, tap "Archive

    " If you want to restore all folders to use the default settings, you can go t Illay to File> Options> Advanced> AutoArchive Settings and click "Use these settings to all folders now" button. It will change all folders that have "Archive this folder with these settings" turned on to have "Archive items in this folder with the default settings" disabled instead.

    Once you have AutoArchive default settings and settings per folder, customize, you can let the process work quietly in the background, free up space for you and keep your folders from getting out of control.


    Source link